Medical (Pill) Abortion Helpful Information
Medical Abortion Timeline
Before Your Abortion Pill Procedure
- You MUST be less than 11 weeks pregnant.
- Your first appointment will include a medical history and an ultrasound to confirm the length of pregnancy.
- The first pill is taken (by mouth) in our office and you will be given a prescription for 4 pills to be taken at home 2 days later. (You are welcome to return to our office for assistance if needed.)
- Two weeks later you will return for an ultrasound at no additional fee to ensure that the pregnancy has fully terminated. That day, if appropriate, we will give you a prescription for a birth control method of your choice.
Costs & Associated Fees
Frequently Asked Questions
Will I be in pain after the procedure?
Most women are drowsy when they leave our office. If there is cramping afterward, some women find all they need is Tylenol. We also give a prescription for pain pills.
Do I need an appointment?
Yes. Appointments can be scheduled from Tuesday through Saturday.
Do I need someone to drive me?
If you choose anxiety medication, you will need to bring a companion to drive you home. If you choose a local anesthetic, you can drive yourself home.
Is your doctor Board Certified?
Yes. All of our surgeons are Board Certified.
How long will I be there?
About 2-4 hours in our clinic.
How much time off work/school do I need?
You should rest on the day of surgery and the day after. If needed, we will give you a discreet work excuse.
Is abortion still Legal in Nevada after the Roe vs Wade verdict?
Yes, abortion is still legal in Nevada. The abortion issue has been settled in Nevada law for decades, primarily because voters in 1990 approved the Freedom of Choice Act. That law upheld a woman’s right to have an abortion in Nevada even if the U.S. Supreme Court’s 1973 Roe v. Wade decision is overturned.